Death From Above 1979 Announce Name Change, Release New Single

Death From Above 1979 are cutting back to being known as simply Death From Above.
It was 16 years ago when Death From Above formed, and since then they’ve had to release music with the additional 1979 on their name due to a cease and desist from James Murphy, head of Death From Above records.
They will keep the 1979 on their social media accounts, but have gone on their website to respond to the original cease and desist: “FUCK DFA RECORDS FUCK JAMES MURPHY WE DECLARE JIHAD ON THEM HOLY WAR ENDING IN THIER DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT… james murphy is a selfish piece of fuck that will burn in the flames of a specially dedicated rock and roll jihad. if i had the resources i would fly a plane into his skull.”
With that though, they’ve also released a new single called “Freeze Me”. It will officially be released on Friday, but you can listen to it here.

(Photo source: Stereoboard)

Posted in All News, Announcer Blogs, Music News Tagged with: , , ,

+ Follow Us

+ Fresh New Spins

Latest Tracks:

1. Papa Roach – Born for Greatness

2. Theory – Straight Jacket

3. 10 Years – Novacaine

4. Pop Evil – Waking Lions

5. Rise Against – House on Fire

6. Jack White – Connected by Love

7. Three Days Grace – The Mountain

8. Sloan – Spin Our Wheels

9. Greta Van Fleet – Safari Song

10. Death From Above – Caught Up

See All

+ Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.

+ On-Air & Shows